Interlibrary loan, requesting both physical and digital items from other libraries (not through Mobius) is available to all students, faculty, and staff. Most books and articles can be obtained at no charge to the borrower. If you have any questions about Interlibrary Loan, you may also contact the library at (573) 592-5248 or e-mail IL2GO with your request.
For books, always check the Locate catalog first. This will search everything available here at Reeves Library. If you can't find it in Locate, you should then search the Mobius catalog. Mobius is much faster than traditional Interlibrary Loan, as we have a designated delivery driver who drops off and picks up books every Monday-Friday. If the book is not available through Mobius, then you can request physical books through Interlibrary Loan.
One way you might find books to request is through the library databases. In databases like MLA with Full Text, there are a lot of book records in the system that are not available with full text. For example:
You can easily request the book above by clicking on the "Request this item through Interlibrary loan" and filling out the following form:
In this form, you can also indicate if you would like the full book or just a chapter. To look up information on these books (like page ranges and table of contents), you can search through Google to find Google book previews, or even find a preview on Amazon.
Worldcat is another good place to search for additional books that can be received through traditional interlibrary loan but it may take up to 2 weeks to receive the item.
Once you have found the book you are interested in borrowing, fill out the form, or email the request to IL2GO. If you are interested in accessing just a portion of this book, you can also use interlibrary loan to request book chapters, as long as the total number of pages requested adds up to less than 10% of the total book.
If you are having trouble finding or requesting any books, you can email IL2GO with the title and author of the book you wish to request.
If you are searching through any of the Library's databases, and find an article that says "Request through Interlibrary Loan' instead of the regular "PDF Full Text", that means you will need to request the article to view the full text.
To request through Interlibrary Loan, all you need to do is click the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button for that particular article. A form will pop up that has you fill in your personal information. The information for the article should already be filled out on the form.
Once you have filled out all the required areas, you can press submit at the bottom.
Now, once this article is available to you, you will get an email from IL2GO to your Westminster email account. This will allow you to download the article, and keep it for as long as you would like!
Typically, these types of digital materials don't circulate through Interlibrary Loan. However, if you see an ebook you would like access to, you can search our eMO ebook collection, or search through Libby.
If you see an ebook or book record in our databases with an Interlibrary Loan request button, you may use that to request a physical copy of the book. You will fill it out just like the article request form.
The Daniel Boone Regional Library system is a great resource for local students living in Callaway County. All Westminster students and faculty can get access to DBRL cards by using their local Westminster address to sign up for a card.
This gets you access to their full print collection from all the branches of the DBRL libraries, as well as their entire online collection.