LibGuides: Philosophy: Books & Ebooks

Digital Encyclopedias

Philosophy A-Z

Aesthetics A-Z
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Brings together short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one
Philosophy of Science A-Z
Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.
Political Philosophy A-Z
A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.

General Philosophy

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Philosophy Book
Untangles knotty theories and sheds light on abstract concepts, and is perfect for anyone with a general interest in how our social, political, and ethical ideas are formed, as well as students of philosophy and politics.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
Presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries. Biographical information is given with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a summary of the points each philosopher made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
A dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
Introduces undergraduate and post-graduate students to the main problems and positions of philosophical logic. Elements include crucial figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic as well as issues that pertain to related, overlapping disciplines, such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for identification within the context of wider debates.

Philosophy Ebooks

The following titles are found in our eMO digital book collection. To browse the full philosophy ebook collection, click here!

Reintroducing Philosophy: Thinking As the Gathering of Civilization
That we are now entering a post-Western world is no longer merely a thesis in international studies. But what does the dissolution of “Western” hegemony signify for humanity's rich learning traditions and the civilizing quest for wisdom? How can this human inheritance assist us today? Reintroducing Philosophy seeks a more realistic framework for discourse on these questions than offered by the Western-centric worldview, which continues to be taught in schools almost by rote.
Philosophy of War : A Brief Analysis on Principles and Justifications
The focus of this book centers on the importance and continued relevance of proven concepts regarding war and societies, provided by minds with advanced foresight into the subject. Prominent generals from the past and present have studied these theories and military institutions all over the world continue to practice their strategies.
Zen and Western Philosophy: Philosophers' Ideas in Haiku
This book captures the body of thought called “Western philosophy” with an Eastern net—Zen as embodied in haiku. It offers profiles of 139 Western philosophers by using a traditional three-line haiku format of 5-7-5 syllables in order to capture each philosopher's ideas in a manner that is both concise and playful.
The Nature of Political Philosophy : And Other Studies and Commentaries
In his final collection of essays, Father Schall explores the life of faith across a dazzling array of subjects, from Martin Luther to bioethics. With his characteristic patience, brilliance, and careful tenacity, Father Schall interrogates profoundly what it means to try to be a citizen of the Kingdom of God in the city of Man.
Philosophy's Big Questions : Comparing Buddhist and Western Approaches
Certain questions have recurred throughout the history of philosophy. They are the big questions—about happiness and the good life, the limits of knowledge, the ultimate structure of reality, the nature of consciousness, the relation between causality and free will, the pervasiveness of suffering, and the conditions for a just and flourishing society—that thinkers in different cultures across the ages have formulated in their own terms in an attempt to make sense of their lives and the world around them.
Philosophy and the Everyday Lives
Studying philosophy means unraveling reality in all its aspects. By contextualizing today's reality in its social, political, ecological, spiritual and also aesthetic context, the chapters in this edited volume present research findings complementing or even challenging ongoing scholarly discussions in philosophy and humanity.
Philosophy: 50 Essential Ideas
What is truth? How can I lead an ethical life? Do I have free will?Throughout history, the world's great thinkers have sought to answer the most profound questions about our universe and have created compelling new ways of thinking. In this beautifully illustrated book, Michael Moore introduces you to the fascinating world of philosophy and its greatest practitioners.
Faith and Philosophy : A Historical Orientation
The ancient religious thinker Tertullian asked: “What has Athens to do with Jerusalem?”, implying that faith and philosophy have nothing to say to each other. The history of this dialogue has shaped the intellectual dialogue from the very beginning right up to the present. In this book, Jerry H. Gill has traced the dynamics of this dialogue and in the conclusion he has offered his own answer to the questions it raises.
Critique in German Philosophy : From Kant to Critical Theory
Critique has been a central theme in the German philosophical tradition since the eighteenth century. The main goal of this book is to provide a history of this concept from its Kantian inception to contemporary critical theory.
Toward a Concrete Philosophy : Heidegger and the Emergence of the Frankfurt School
Toward a Concrete Philosophy explores the reactions of Theodor Adorno, Max Horkheimer, and Herbert Marcuse to Martin Heidegger prior to their dismissal of him once he turned to the Nazi party in 1933. Mikko Immanen provides a fascinating glimpse of the three future giants of twentieth-century social criticism when they were still looking for their philosophical voices.

Philosophy Audiobooks

All the following audiobooks are available through Libby! You can browse the entire philosophy audiobook section here. You can easily download Libby from any app store to listen and read on the go! Click here to see instructions on how to log into Libby.

Philosophy of Mind: Brains, Consciousness, and Thinking Machines
The quest to understand the mind has motivated some of history's most profound thinkers.
Philosophy of Religion
These 36 intellectually challenging yet remarkably clear lectures take you on an intellectual journey to explore the questions of divine existence, not from the standpoint of theology, but as an issue of epistemology, the classic branch of philosophy that concerns itself with knowledge theory: how we can know things and how we can know we know them.
The Story of Philosophy
The product of eleven years of research, The Story of Philosophy is an endlessly inspiring and instructive chronicle of the world's greatest thinkers, from Socrates to Santayana.
An Introduction to Greek Philosophy
More than 2500 years later, the fundamental questions asked by the ancient Greeks continue to challenge, fascinate, and instruct us.
Philosophy, Religion, and the Meaning of Life
What is the meaning of life? Is human Existence meaningful or absurd? If you've ever pondered these questions, you have an extraordinary adventure in store, as an award-winning teacher presents a boldly revealing inquiry into these most fundamental human concerns.
The Great Questions of Philosophy and Physics
Philosophers have long puzzled over the nature of space, time, and matter. These inquiries led to the flowering of physics with the Scientific Revolution in the 17th century. Since then, the spectacular success of modern physics might appear to have made philosophy irrelevant. But new theories have created a new range of philosophical concerns: What is the shape of space? Is time travel possible? Is there a grand unified theory that unites all of physics?
How to Think Like a Roman Emperor
The life-changing principles of Stoicism are taught through the story of its most famous proponent, Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius.
Ikigai: The Japanese Secret Philosophy for a Happy Healthy Long Life with Joy and Purpose Every Day
Most people will spend their entire life trying to figure it out, but only a few will have the privilege of really understanding and experiencing what it means to live a fulfilled life.
There are Places in the World Where Rules are Less Important Than Kindness
One of the world's mot prominent physicists and fearless free spirit, Carlo Rovelli, is also a master storyteller. His best-selling books have introduced millions of readers to the wonders of modern physics and his singular perspective on the cosmos.
Critique of Pure Reason
Immanuel Kant's Critique of Pure Reason is a core text of modern philosophy.
Leviathan
Written during the turmoil of the English Civil War, Leviathan was, in Hobbes' lifetime, publicly burnt and even condemned in Parliament as one of the causes of the Great Fire of London in 1666. It's current appeal lies not just in its elevation of politics to a science, but in its overriding concern for peace, its systematic analysis of power, and its convincing apologia for the then-emergent market society in which we still live.
On the Nature of Things
Lucretius was born in 99 BC, and On the Nature of Things is his only surviving work. His aim was to free the Roman world from its two great terrors--the gods and death.

Searching in Locate

Access Locate through the Reeves Library website or by going directly to https://westminster.searchmobius.org/search
Use the search bar on the main catalog page to search by keywords, title, or author.
Once you have searched, you will see the results page. For our example, we have searched by title:
Since Reeves Library has this exact title, it brought us directly to the record. This is where we can see that the book is listed as available, and the location is WC Reeves New Books. This also lists the call number, so we can easily find it on the shelf. If the book is checked out, it will be listed as Unavailable.
If we want to search by keywords, instead of title, our search results page will look more like this:
From here we can click on individual titles, or easily place a hold on items that are owned by Reeves Library.