The call numbers are organized first alphabetically, and then numerically. The letters help us know what the subject matter is going to be, and then the numbers break down to a more specific subject, author, and publication date.
The catalog, known as Locate, is how you can search the physical items in the building, and what we have online! The catalog is where we put all the records for the individual items. This includes books, electronics, DVDs, streaming videos, ebooks, and audiobooks. The catalog helps researchers know where things will be located. It will let you know if this is a physical item or a digital item. If it's a physical item, it will provide you with the location and call number so you can find it at Reeves Library. If it's a digital item, it will give you electronic access. The catalog also allows you to find your account to see what you have checked out, request an item that is currently unavailable, and renew your checkouts.
Course Reserves are a special collection behind the front desk at Reeves Library. Faculty members put specific items on course reserve, like textbooks or supplemental items for class. This allows everyone in the class to come and check them out when needed. Many times the checkout times for these items are much shorter than a regular book, and often cannot be taken out of the library. If you ever need anything that is on course reserve, stop by the front desk and let us know the name of your faculty and class.
A database is a digital collection of individual items. A lot of databases are organized by subject, so there are specific databases that work well for academic subjects. While there are other databases that are very broad that cover many different topics. Databases can feature things like articles, ebooks, magazines, newspapers, and more. These can be found in our Database A-Z section of the website.
The Discovery Search works similarly to a traditional Google search! You can type in any keywords, and it will search over half of our library databases, and create a curated list of the most relevant resources (like articles, books, ebooks, etc.). This is a great starting place, as it allows you to comb through multiple databases at one time, instead of having to search them separately. The Discovery Search is the main search bar on the library homepage.
The Hazel Wing is on the east side of the Reeves Library building. It has 2 doors that lead directly into the Hazel Wing. The South door is off of the main circle drive, and the East door is across from the Berlin Wall. The HZ Wing also has 4 classrooms (HZ 112, 301, 302, & 311), 1 computer lab (HZ 102), and a student lounge (HZ 101). While Reeves closes at 10 pm, the HZ Wing is open 24/7. Call Security for the door code to gain access after hours.
Interlibrary Loan is the process of requesting digital articles through Reeves Library. Sometimes when you are researching in the databases and our Discovery search, you might see some articles that don't have a PDF full text. Instead, they have a 'Request through Interlibrary Loan' option. This is a free way for you to get access to articles that Reeves doesn't have immediately available. Submit your request, and our librarians will work to get the article for you. Requests can take anywhere from 1-5 days.
The Librarians are the professional staff at Reeves Library. They are trained to assist you with all things library, research, and citations. You can make 1:1 appointments with the Librarians on Navigate, or through email. You can stop by the front desk for drop-in help anytime between 7:30 am-6:00 pm Monday-Thursday, and Friday, the Librarians are available until 5 pm.
The library website (www.wcmo.edu/academics/resoruces/library) is the hub for all things research. This is where you will access the databases and all the content to which your tuition gives you access. The library website also features a catalog to search for physical items, as well as digital ones. You can also find helpful FAQs, research guides, and updates on events and programs.
MOBIUS is our connection to every other academic library in the state, and a few as far as Colorado and Texas! This means that you can easily borrow physical books from other libraries that are a part of MOBIUS. So, if you find a book that Reeves doesn't have, you can easily request it through the MOBIUS catalog.
Reeves Libray features specific areas just for quiet study. The 3rd & 4th floors are specifically for quiet, focused study. You will find a variety of seating to accommodate all types of study habits! You can also find private study rooms in 1 West and the 3rd floor. Rooms can be reserved by emailing reeves.library, stopping by the front desk, or scanning the QR code at the study room you want to reserve!
Reference just refers to all the research you are doing while using Reeves Library! When you reach out to a librarian for help, we are providing you with reference support. You might hear this word when we speak about our librarians or the services they offer.
Reeves Library's website is available in 2 different ways. You can go directly to library.westminster-mo.edu, or visit MyWC and click the "Library" icon.
This is where you will get access to all the books, articles, journals, videos, and more available through Reeves Library.
Watch the video below to get an in-depth tour of the website!
The Discovery Search always lives on the library homepage. It is a great starting spot and searches multiple databases at once. It works very similarly to Google! Instead of searching all the databases individually, this allows you to cast a very wide net quickly and efficiently.
Watch the video below to learn more about conducting research in the Discovery Search.
*Please note that the video below features the old website. However, the search functionality of Discovery is still the same! You can find Discovery at wcmo.edu/academics/resources/library.