English

This online collection was digitized by The Poe Museum Archive.

Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives.

Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.

The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. Drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the world, the Whitman Archive is the most comprehensive record of works by and about Whitman—and continues to grow. The Archive is directed by Matt Cohen (University of Nebraska–Lincoln), Ed Folsom (University of Iowa), and Kenneth M. Price (University of Nebraska–Lincoln).

Explore some of the British Library’s most cherished items. The books presented here include historical, scientific and literary works, rare religious texts and beautiful art. You can read or listen to the helpful guides accompanying the books and use the magnifying glass to dive into the pages and marvel at the finer details.

Discover a wealth of original sources from the 20th and 21st centuries, including manuscripts, first editions, newspapers, diaries, letters, photographs and maps from the British Library.

Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.

Eclipse is a free on-line archive focusing on digital facsimiles of the most radical small-press writing from the last quarter century.

HathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Modernist Journals presents high-quality digital scans and metadata of periodicals published from 1890 to 1922. Free to the public.

Dime novels were a format of inexpensive popular fiction produced in the United States between 1860 and 1930. Available for as little as a nickel or as much as a dime, they opened up leisure reading for the masses in a way previously not possible. This site contains materials from two major dime novel collections in Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University, the Albert Johannsen and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections.

"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of Black people struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

Numbering over 10,000 titles, May's pamphlets document the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels.

This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections. The original World Digital Library site (preserved in LC’s Web Archives here) and all descriptive metadata were translated from English and made available in six additional languages: Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.

A collection of Native poets from across the country through interactive story map and audio and visual collections through the Library of Congress. This collection was created by our first Native U.S. Poet Laureate, Joy Harjo.

PennSound is an ongoing project, committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives of hundreds of authors.

Funded by money originally earmarked for the socialization of juvenile delinquents, the newly formed Poetry Committee declared St. Marks Church-in-the-Bouwerie in Manhattan’s East Village as their new home. Among the founders was poet and translator Paul Blackburn, whose commitment to the shared experience of poetry prompted him to capture readings on a tape recorder. These recordings initiated the Poetry Project archive of recorded poetry. To this day, several readings a week are held and recorded at St. Mark’s.