Skip to Main Content

English

This guide is to support English literature research at Westminster College.

Literary Magazines

The literary magazines below are all indexed in MLA International with Full Text. Some include the full text, while others link to the literary journal website. However, since some are indexed in MLA, you are able to easily browse and search the individual articles and submissions for each volume of the following literary magazines: 

  • The Antioch Review
    • Antioch College, Publishes articles on literary and social commentary as well as fiction and poetry. 
    • Full text from 1990-Present in MLA. 
  • Brevity
    • Publishes well-known and emerging writers working in the brief essay form, along with craft essays and book reviews. 
  • Chicago Review
    • Chicago Review Press, Publishes aspiring and established poets and writers, as well as literary criticism and reviews.
    • Indexed with full text from 1999-Present in MLA.
  • Guernica
    • Publishes the intersection of arts and politics. 
  • Harvard Review
    • Houghton Library of the Harvard College Library, Publishes articles on contemporary poetry, fiction, and nonfiction in English or in translation into English.
    • Indexed in MLA with full text from Gale OneFile
  • The Iowa Review
    • University of Iowa, Publishes short fiction, poetry, prose, criticism, and essays. 
    • Indexed in MLA and full text available on The Iowa Review website. 
  • Michigan Quarterly Review
    • University of Michigan Press, Publishes articles and reviews on all aspects of the humanities and the social sciences.
    • Indexed in MLA and full text available on the Michigan Quarterly Review website. 
  • New Orleans Review
    • Loyola University, Publishes contemporary fiction and poetry, translations, articles on literary and film criticism, artwork, and interviews.
    • Indexed with full text available from 2005-Present in MLA. 
  • The Oxford Literary Review
    • Edinburgh University Press, Published articles on literary theory.
    • Indexed with full text from 2007-Present (with 12-month delay) in MLA. 
  • Ploughshares
    • Emerson College, Publishes work that explores different and personal visions, aesthetics, and literary circles.
    • Full-text 1990-Present in MLA. 
  • Poetry Magazine
    • Poetry Foundation, Publishes poetry, translations, book reviews, and prose. 
    • Archive of issues available at magazine website. 
  • Smokelong Quarterly 
    • Dedicated to bringing the best flash narratives to the web quarterly, whether written by widely published authors or those new to the craft.
  • Southwest Review
    • Southwest Methodist University Press, Publishes work on almost every area of adult interest, including contemporary affairs, history, folklore, fiction, poetry, literary criticism, interviews, art, music, and the theater.
    • Indexed with full text from 1999-2015 in MLA, and available on the Southwest Review website. 
  • Virginia Quarterly Review
    • University of Virginia, Publishes articles and discussions on contemporary literature.
    • Full text available from 1990-Present in MLA. 
  • Words Without Borders
    • The Premier destination for a global literary conversation.