Artstor Public Collections
Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open-access images from partner museums.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.
New York Public Library Digital Image Collection To date, there are 320,927 public domain items in Digital Collections, and that number grows every day. You do not need NYPL's permission to use these items and there are no known restrictions on their use. However, these items may be subject to rights of privacy, publicity, or other restrictions depending on the format of the materials and what the items depict. It is your responsibility to respect these rights.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress features an incredible collection of digital materials. Each individual collection features a 'Right to Use' section, that provides the proper use information. Many of these collections are in the public domain.
Wellcome Medical Library Digital Collection Thousands of items from the Wellcome collections have been digitized, and copies are freely accessible online. The digital collections cover a wide variety of topics and are particularly strong in the areas of mental health, sex, and sexual health, genetics, public health, and 19th-century books
Openverse is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. It searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset.
Unsplash All photos on Unsplash fall under the Unsplash License, which means all photos can be downloaded for free and used for commercial and non-commercial purposes.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models. This collection aims to help the media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
Picks4Learning Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.
