Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources

This guide is to help promote and educate about open educational resources in higher education.

 

The section of this guide is constantly updating and evolving as the Reeves Librarians find great OER materials to assist you with your courses. Do you have a suggestion for a material? Let us know!

  • Anatomy & Physiology Search in OER Commons
    This specific search in OER Commons provides access to a variety of anatomy & physiology resources. 
  • Anatomy & Physiology Textbook from OpenStax
    Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors.
  • AnatomyZone
    Your guide to human anatomy. Over 200 video tutorials and counting.
  • National Library of Medicine Digital Collection 
    Digital Collections     provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine. 
  • BioInteractive Human Physiology
    HHMI BioInteractive brings the power of real science stories into tens of thousands of high school and undergraduate life science classrooms.
  • The Visible Human Project
    The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
  • Human Anatomy from LibreTexts
    The purpose of this textbook is to serve as a resource for students who are taking a first semester human anatomy course. All efforts were made to ensure the material covered in this resource is consistent, accurate, and accessible. This material was also designed to be equitable, diverse, and inclusive.
     
  • Biology Specific Search in OER Commons
    This search provides access to a variety of Biology resources from the OER Commons.
  • Science Textbooks from OpenStax
    Biology and Biology for AP textbooks are available through OpenStax. 
  • Video Set for Principles of Biology I and II
    Includes: Metric Conversions, Scientific Notation, Elements, Subatomic Particles, and Ions, Chemical Bonds: Ionic, Covalent, and Hydrogen, Passive Transport: Diffusion, Osmosis, and Tonicity, The Cell Cycle, Taxonomy, Meiosis, Viral Infection, Trophic Efficiency, and Alternation of Generations. CC BY
  • Foundations of Biology Lab Manual
    This revision of the Georgia Highlands College Laboratory Manual for Foundations of Biology was made possible through a Round Twelve ALG Mini-Grant for Ancillary Materials and Revisions.
  • Biology Courses from MIT, Harvard & Rice
    EdX provides access to popular courses from distinguished higher ed institutions. 
  • BioInteractive 
    Real science, real stories, and real data to engage students in exploring the living world.
  • Encyclopedia Of Life
    Our knowledge of the many life forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists, and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice. This dream is becoming a reality through the Encyclopedia of Life.
  • Public Health Image Library 
    Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
     

  • Language Resource Centers 
    U.S. Department of Education established the first Language Resource Centers (LRCs) at U.S. universities in response to the growing national need for expertise and competence in foreign languages. Currently, sixteen LRCs make up a national network of resources to promote and improve the teaching and learning of the less-commonly taught languages.
  • Spanish Specific OER Commons Search
    This specific search in OER Commons provides access to a variety of Spanish language resources. 
  • French Specific OER Commons Search 
    This specific search in OER Commons provides access to a variety of French language resources.
  • Korean Classic Film Youtube Channel 
    Here you will find 110 classic Korean films from the 1930s onwards available for free viewing
  • Library of Congress Historical Digital Collections
    This collection offers access to thousands of primary sources scanned and stored by the Library of Congress. 
  • Discover Black History with Artstor and JSTOR
    In honor of Black History Month, we have consolidated a list of collections available in Artstor, Open  Access and licensed, and JSTOR’s freely available community-contributed collections. We invite you to explore the resources – historic chronicles from manuscripts, newspapers, documents, and recordings, the story of African American art told by the works themselves, and photographic archives portraying the lives of celebrated African Americans and those we no longer know. 
  • U.S. History from OpenStax
    U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top-down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom-up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). 
  • The American Yawp
    The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. Unchecked by profit motives or business models, and free from for-profit educational organizations, The American Yawp is by scholars, for scholars. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first-century classrooms.
  • Modern World History Textbook from Open Textbook Library 
    This is the textbook for an undergraduate survey course taught at all the universities and most of the colleges in the Minnesota State system. Similar courses are taught at institutions around the United States and the world, so the authors have made the text available as an open educational resource that teachers and learners can read, adapt, and reuse to meet their needs.
  • National Archives Digital Collection
    The National Archives offers access to U.S. history such as military records, historical documents, and materials created in the course of business conducted by the U.S. government. 

     

  • Writing Place: A Scholarly Writing Textbook
    An accessible and inclusive scholarly writing textbook that empowers students to contribute to scholarly conversations in their disciplines and asks them to consider how their contributions can be shared with the communities beyond the university. This was created by Lindsay Cuff for the University of British Columbia. 

  • Communications & Writing Textbooks from BC Open Collection
    The BC Open Collection is a curated list by the University of British Columbia. This specific search covers writing, communication, media studies, and english courses. 

  • Writing Guide with Handbook
    Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. This book is published by OpenStax, and was last updated in Dec. 2023.

  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

  • Project Gutenberg 
    Choose between free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them, or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks for everyone to enjoy.

  • Bloomsbury Literary Studies Collection 
    All Bloomsbury open-access books can be downloaded free of charge from Bloomsbury Collections by anyone with an internet connection. You can download a PDF of the whole book, as well as individual chapter PDFs, and you may share these PDFs with others.

  • Literature-Specific Search on OER Commons 
    This link will provide access to a variety of materials covering all aspects of literature subjects. 

  • Compact Anthology of World Literature
    The texts have been chosen with the idea that they can be compared and contrasted, using common themes. Rather than numerous (and therefore often random) choices of texts from various periods, these selected works are meant to make both teaching and learning easier.

  • The Literature Network
    To find the work you're looking for start by looking through the author index. There are currently over 3500 full books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors. The quotations database has over 8500 quotes, and quiz system features over 340 quizzes.

  • Literature Video Crash Course
    Crash Course offers free heavily researched lectures over various topics. 

  • American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbooks
    All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
  • OpenStax
    Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free and backed by additional learning resources. Review our OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. Great for math and sciences.
  • Mathematics Search on OER Commons
    This is a specific search in OER Commons for mathematics-specific resources. 
  • MyOpenMath
    MyOpenMath is an online course management and assessment system for mathematics and other quantitative fields. MyOpenMath’s focus is providing rich algorithmically generated assessments to support the use of free, open textbooks.
  • SageMath
    SageMath is a free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL. It builds on top of many existing open-source packages: NumPy, SciPy, matplotlib, Sympy, Maxima, GAP, FLINT, R and many more.
  • Desmos Graphing Calculator
    Free online graphing calculator from Desmos Studios.