Skip to Main Content

Political Science

This guide is to help facilitate successful political science research.

Cases: Federal & State

  • HeinOnline Supreme Court Case Law
    HeinOnline provides the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports, an indexed compilation of the official full text of all decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States, and the official record of its rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings. 
  • The Supreme Court Database (Washington University Law) 
    The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2021 terms.
  • FindLaw
    The Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases, and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws.
  • Google Scholar Case Law
    This is a convenient way to search across all federal and state courts. Select the court you are interested in, and then enter the information you are hoping to locate. 

Codes: Federal & State

  • Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)
    The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.
  • Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
    The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
  • Plural (formally Open States) 
    Plural makes free democracy tools and open data easily searchable and available. Search and track state legislation as well as bulk download their available data. 
  • HeinOnline Code of Federal Regulation