Brainstorming
Choosing a good topic is the first step to a successful research project. Begin thinking about the type of research you would like to do by asking yourself some of the helpful questions below. Think about the answers, and let that help guide your decision-making! Remember, there are no silly ideas at this stage. Anything can lead to a great idea!
- What are some major interests within this course or topic?
- Have you had any personal experiences that were significant or meaningful to you, as it relates to the topic of your assignment?
- What about the course have you found most exciting?
- What theories or concepts are most interesting to you?
- Is there a specific demographic or population you are interested in researching?
- What are some major issues or problems faced in your industry or course topic?
- What are your career goals upon completion of your degree?
- Have you read any interesting articles or books related to your discipline?
Finding Background Information
Looking up background information on your broad topic can really help you narrow down your ideas, or find a specific area of interest. A great place for this type of research is encyclopedias and trade-specific publications. They can give you relevant information on what is going on in those specific fields today, as well as give you contextual information that can help you discover new topics. Reeves Library has great starting sources, where you can find information on broad and popular topics. Browse them below!
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference offers access to 600 reference encyclopedia entries covering every major subject. You can easily browse by topic, and use their Mind Map feature to explore like topics.
- Britannica Online
This Resource includes coverage of the Britannica Encyclopedia, Webster's Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Dictionary of Quotations, as well as headlines from the New York Times and BBC.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encylopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
