The main collection in the Archives is the collection of Westminster publications. This ranges from items published for students, by students, and for alumni.
The following are the Westminster publications available in the College Archives:
Student Publications
Alumni Publications
Westminster History
The student experience from 1851 to the present is captured in our Student & Campus Memorabilia collection. The following are the physical items we collect to help preserve Westminster's history:
Also included in our Memorabilia collection are our Photo Collections. The following categories are photos that the College Archives collect:
Westminster is famous for its incredible lecture series history, and the Westminster Archives helps preserve this history. Below is information on each lecture series at Westminster College.
Brauer Lecture Series:
The Brauer Lecture Series was created to explore and encourage dialogue on the American free enterprise system. The series supports student growth and development by hosting leading scholars from across the United States. Sponsored in conjunction with the Olin School of Business at Washington University in St. Louis, MO, the Brauer Lecture Series seeks to highlight the leadership characteristics of its speakers. Featured lecturers are encouraged to discuss how their values guide their daily lives while also highlighting the importance of free-market economics. It is made possible by a generous gift from Stephen F., ’67 ΦΔΘ, and Camilla T. Brauer of St. Louis. This lecture series started in 2022.
Enid and R. Crosby Kemper Lecture:
The Enid and R. Crosby Kemper Lectureship was established in 1979 by a grant from the Enid and R. Crosby Kemper Foundation of Kansas City, Missouri. It is intended to provide lectures by authorities on history, Winston Churchill, and his legacy in today's world. Most of the history for these lectures is at the National Winston Churchill Museum. Https://www.nationalchurchillmuseum.org/crosby-kemper-lectures.html
Hancock Symposium:
Each September, the Hancock Symposium offers two engaging days of lectures, panel discussions, and presentations by noted experts on a theme of global interest. The dynamic sessions challenge students with innovative ideas, and the entire campus community participates in the events and learns together. The Archive has programs, flyers, and posters from each event.
Harrod-C.S. Lewis Legacy Lecture:
The C.S. Lewis Legacy Lecture honors the legacy of British writer and thinker C.S. Lewis. Through the annual lecture, the College seeks to bring to campus people who speak to themes, topics and issues that Lewis regarded highly.
IBM Lectures:
The IBM Lectureship in Business and Finance was established at Westminster College by the International Business Machines Corporation in 1980. The lecture was designed to bring leaders in the world of business and finance and/or professors of economics and business administration to campus. The Archives has information on the speakers' visits, tickets, and programs from the events.
The John Findley Green Foundation Lecture Series:
The John Findley Green Foundation lecture was established in 1936 as a memorial to John Findley Green, an attorney in St. Louis who graduated from Westminster in 1884. This endowed fund makes it possible to present lectures designed to promote an understanding of economic and social problems of international concern. It further provides that "the speaker shall be a person of international reputation." Winston Churchill's "Sinews of Peace" ("Iron Curtain" Speech) was the 7th Green Foundation Lecture.
The Archives collection features history from each Green Lecture, including correspondence, tickets, programs, speeches, and more. This lecture has its own file cabinet located in Reeves Library.
The record retention efforts of Westminster College include physical items in the archival collection. The following are the main pieces of this collection:
It is important to note that our collection only holds the items that were published physically. Once items were produced only electronically, the Archives no longer stored a copy.
Reeves Library has been gifted many generous donations over the years, and these donations make up our Special Collections. These can range from books, letters, manuscripts, paintings, prints, and more.
Reeves Library is currently the home of the A.J. Jordan print collection, which has many texts and many first-edition texts published between 1880-1930.
The following are the main pieces of our Special Collections: